Chinese Eggplant Dish

Posted on Updated on

In the Summer of 2013, I had the privilege of spending five and a half weeks in Hangzhou, China. There I fell in love with life, culture, food and came to the realization that back home I was letting life slip me by. One of the things I told myself I would do when I returned to the states was that I was going to cook Chinese dishes that I enjoyed during my stay in Hangzhou. The dish that I surprisingly favored the most was an eggplant dish. It was full of flavor, spice, the eggplant was tender, the sauce not over powering but fragrant, and the ground pork complimented it very well.

IMG_0105

Shortly after returning home, I spend time researching the variety of dishes that I enjoyed and wanted to le

arn how to cook. Naturally, I started with one of my top favorites the eggplant dish. This is the recipe I found, and the one I will keep for future use as it has served its purpose and brings back memories of the family style dinners my classmates and I shared many nights during our stay in China.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

IMG_0093

Ingredients –

Thai Chili Pepers (4) or the Chili Garlic paste pictured.
2 Medium size Chinese eggplants
2 Teaspoon – Garlic
1 Teaspoon – minced Ginger
1/4 lb. – Ground Pork/Chicken
1 Tablespoon – chopped green onion
Sauce Ingredients — (some ingredients may be adjusted towards flavor preference.)
1 Tablespoon – Hoisen Sauce *
1 Tablespoon – Soy Sauce *
2 Teaspoon – Plum Sauce *
2.5 Teaspoon – Chicken Powder *

 

Directions —
1. Mix together sauce ingredients (*), heat to a boil and then simmer.
2. Cook meat in separate pan until brown and crumbly with the Chili, Garlic and Ginger.
3. Combine the sauce, meat and eggplant together.
4. Stir until evenly coated and eggplant is cooked through.
5. Remove from heat and top with green onions as a garnish.

Leave a Reply

